What are the IPPYs?

The annual Independent Publisher Book Awards, familiarly known as the IPPYs, were established in 1996 by Jenkins Group Inc. of Traverse City, Michigan.  The IPPYs are designed to recognize independent authors and publishers who exhibit the courage, innovation, and creativity to bring about change in the world of publishing.  Books are entered and judged in 65 national categories and 20 regional categories, and are also considered for the “Ten Outstanding Books of the Year”.  Gold, silver, and bronze medals are awarded to the top books, and the winners are honored at an annual ceremony, most recently in Los Angeles on May 30, 2008.  The IPPY contest is now the world’s largest independent book awards contest, receiving over 3,000 entries each year. 


Learn more about the IPPYs, including how to enter   


One Response to What are the IPPYs?

  1. Susan Ridley says:

    I am an independant publisher specialising in therapeutic books, both children’s and adults. Please could you put me on your mailing list and let me know when your next Award Contest is. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: